About the RMEB

The Rural Minnesota Energy Board is a Joint Powers of 18 counties in southern Minnesota:

  • Blue Earth

  • Brown

  • Cottonwood

  • Faribault

  • Freeborn

  • Jackson

  • Lincoln

  • Lyon

  • Martin

  • Mower

  • Murray

  • Nicollet

  • Nobles

  • Pipestone

  • Redwood

  • Renville

  • Rock

  • Watonwan

The board was formed to provide policy guidance on issues surrounding energy development in rural Minnesota. Originally formed in 1996 as the Ridge Counties Task Force, it developed into the Wind Task Force, SW Minnesota Energy Task Force, and Rural Minnesota Energy Task Force; as both the membership and policy issues expanded. The initial focus on wind energy has broadened to include renewable energy and transmission issues. In January 2004, the process to become a more formal entity through the formation of the Joint Powers Board was initiated, the first joint powers’ meeting with fourteen county members was held in January 2005. The counties have been active in working together to resolve many energy related issues, including the barriers to local wind energy generation and development.

The Rural Minnesota Energy Task Force addressed many energy issues that have local long-term benefits to rural Minnesota. These issues and initiatives include:

  • Wind Energy Production Tax - supported a tax structure for wind energy projects that would balance the needs of host communities with a policy of encouraging renewable energy development.

  • Support for Renewable Energy Development: Ethanol, Bio-diesel Support, Bio Mass, Methane, Hydrogen, Solar, and Waste to Energy

  • As an Intervener in the Xcel Energy Application to the Public Utilities Commission, the Task Force was successful in support of increased transmission outlet capacity that would also allow local access to the transmission grid.

  • The Task Force identified a lack of communication between energy companies and the local community and has opened dialogs on issues of concern to the region.

  • Support for Community Based Renewable Energy Development.

  • Work with the Metropolitan Energy Policy Coalition (MEPC) - formerly the Metro Counties Energy Task Force - on issues of common interest.

The Rural Minnesota Energy Board is committed to cooperating in a joint venture to provide the greatest public service benefit possible for the 18 county area encompassed by the Counties in policy, planning, management, and implementation of methods to deal with energy and transmission in rural Minnesota.

Rural Minnesota Energy Board | 2401 Broadway Avenue, Slayton, MN 56172 | Phone: 507-836-8547, Fax: 507-836-8866